Faculty Advisory
Standing Committee

Mission Statement

The faculty advisory committee will be comprised of an odd number of members: each of the program area leaders, program area co-leaders, and one or more member to be elected at-large. Faculty-at-large shall serve a three-year term and may not succeed himself/herself. The number of at-large members shall be determined by the director and committee chair. Faculty representatives at-large must have greater than 0.50 FTE of their appointment in SNR. One staff representative shall be selected to serve as a liaison with this committee. Both the associate director and the associate director for conservation and survey shall serve as ex officio members.

The faculty advisory committee shall advise the director on SNR budget, facilities, committee nominations, general operation issues, and shall work with the director on matters of concern to faculty, staff, and students. The faculty advisory committee shall meet with the director no less than twice each semester.

Each spring semester, the faculty advisory committee shall identify candidates for the faculty and staff committee ballots. The committee shall seek broad, equitable representation from SNR’s voting members (see section 3). Nominations from the faculty and/or staff at large will be accepted by the committee. Where more than one position is available, paired nominations will be presented where possible to ensure diverse representation on the committee. A simple majority vote (see section 7.3) shall be used. In the case of a tie, a runoff election shall be held.

"Bylaws;" University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources; Adopted 11/26/2018

Current Members

Jessica Burnett (Liaison)- 013 HARH , EC 0980 ; phone: 352-792-5425; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jburnett@huskers.unl.edu - [Term Expires: Graduate Student Associate Representative]

John Carroll (ex-officio)- 903 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-8368; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jcarroll2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Director of SNR]

Paul Hanson (ex-officio)- 904 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-7762; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: phanson2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Associate Director]

Mike Hayes - 811 HARH , EC 0988 ; phone: 402-472-4271; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mhayes2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020]

R.M. (Matt) Joeckel (ex-officio)- 615 HARH , EC 0996 ; phone: 402-472-7520; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: rjoeckel3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Associate Director for Conservation and Survey]

Mark Pegg - 402 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6824; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mpegg2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Ecology Mission Area Rep]

Larkin Powell - 419 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6825; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lpowell3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Ecology Mission Area Leader]

Martha Shulski - 153b HARH , EC 0931 ; phone: 402-472-6711; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mshulski3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Climate and Spatial Science Mission]

Dan Snow - 202 WL , EC 0844 ; phone: 402-472-7539; FAX: 402-472-9599; E-mail: dsnow1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Science Rep]

Steven Thomas (Chair)- 403 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-613-0043; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: sthomas5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Enivormental Science Mission Area Leader]

Brian Wardlow - 316 HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-472-6729; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: bwardlow2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Climate and Spatial Science Mission]