Faculty Advisory Committee

Mission Statement

The faculty advisory committee will be comprised of an odd number of members: each of the mission area leaders, mission area co-leaders, and one or more member to be elected at-large.

Faculty-at-large shall serve a three-year term and may not succeed himself/herself. Faculty representatives at-large must have greater than 0.50 FTE of their appointment in SNR. One staff representative from the staff advisory and professional development committee shall serve as liaison between the two committees. Both the associate director and the associate director for Conservation and Survey shall serve as ex officio members.

The faculty advisory committee shall advise the director on SNR budget, facilities, committee nominations, general operation issues, and shall work with the director on matters of concern to faculty, staff, and students. The faculty advisory committee shall meet with the director no less than twice each semester.

Each spring semester, the Faculty Advisory Committee shall identify candidates for committee membership for the faculty and staff ballots; committee membership changes July 1 of each year. The committee shall seek broad, equitable representation from SNR’s voting members (section 4.2). Nominations from the faculty and/or staff at large will be accepted by the committee. Where more than one position is available, paired nominations will be presented where possible to ensure diverse representation on the committee. Committee members will be elected from among the candidates by a simple majority vote (see section 5.7). In the case of a tie, a runoff election shall be held.

"Bylaws;" University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources; Adopted 12/16/2016

Current Members

Jessica Burnett (Liaison)- 013 HARH , EC 0980 ; phone: 352-792-5425; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jburnett@huskers.unl.edu - [Term Expires: Graduate Student Associate Representative]

John Carroll (ex-officio)- 903 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-8368; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jcarroll2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Director of SNR]

Paul Hanson (ex-officio)- 904 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-7762; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: phanson2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Associate Director]

Mike Hayes - 819 HARH , EC 0988 ; phone: 402-472-4271; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mhayes2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020]

R.M. (Matt) Joeckel (ex-officio)- 615 HARH , EC 0996 ; phone: 402-472-7520; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: rjoeckel3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Associate Director for Conservation and Survey]

Mark Pegg - 402 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6824; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mpegg2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Ecology Mission Area Rep]

Larkin Powell - 419 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6825; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lpowell3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Ecology Mission Area Leader]

Martha Shulski - 153b HARH , EC 0931 ; phone: 402-472-6711; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mshulski3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Climate and Spatial Science Mission]

Dan Snow (Chair)- 202 WL , EC 0844 ; phone: 402-472-7539; FAX: 402-472-9599; E-mail: dsnow1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Science Rep]

Colleen Steele (Liaison)- 618 HARH , EC 0996 ; phone: 402-472-3150; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: csteele3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: SAPDC Representative]

Steven Thomas - 403 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-613-0043; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: sthomas5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Enivormental Science Mission Area Leader]

Brian Wardlow - 316 HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-472-6729; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: bwardlow2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Climate and Spatial Science Mission]