Promotion and Tenure Committee - Standing

Current Membership

John Gamon - 307 South HARH , EC 0988 ; phone: 402-472-7529; FAX: 402-472.2946; E-mail: jgamon@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019 (Applied Climate & Spatial Science Rep)]

Troy Gilmore - 603 South HARH , EC 0996 ; phone: 402-470-1741; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: gilmore@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021 (Environmental Science Rep)]

Maria Hansen (ex-officio)- 909 South HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-9873; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mhansen5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Administrative Assistant]

Leon Higley - 723 South HARH , EC 0987 ; phone: 402-560-6684; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lhigley1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019 (Applied Ecology Rep)]

Lisa Pennisi - 519 South HARH , EC 0995 ; phone: 402-472-5875; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lpennisi2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020 (Environmental Science Rep)]

Larkin Powell - 419 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6825; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lpowell3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021 (At-Large)]

Martha Shulski - 153b North HARH , EC 0931 ; phone: 402-472-6711; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mshulski3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021 (At-Large)]

Andy Suyker - 806 South HARH , EC 0968 ; phone: 402-472-2168; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: asuyker1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020 (Applied Climate & Spatial Science Rep)]

Steven Thomas - 403 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-613-0043; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: sthomas5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019 (At-Large)]

Dave Wedin (Chair)- 411 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-9608; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: dwedin1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020]

Membership Criteria

The promotion and tenure committee shall be composed of an odd number of members: 2 faculty from each program area; and one or more faculty elected at-large. At-large members may not succeed themselves. Five members must be fully promoted; five members must be tenured; all members must have greater than 0.50 FTE in SNR. The director, associate director, and associate director for conservation and survey cannot serve on this committee. Elected mission area members shall serve three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms.

Duties

The promotion and tenure committee shall report annually to the director on recommendations for promotion of faculty, granting of tenure, reappointment of faculty, and progress toward tenure and/or promotion. When a faculty member is being evaluated for promotion, that faculty member may identify an SNR faculty member (excluding the director, associate director, associate director for conservation and survey, supervising center director, or any member of the P&T committee) who will meet with the promotion and tenure committee and serve as an advocate for the candidate.

If someone is being considered for a faculty position with tenure, the request for granting of tenure must be presented to the promotion and tenure committee for its recommendation prior to the offer of tenure to the candidate. This committee shall facilitate post-tenure reviews where appropriate. All recommendations of the promotion and tenure committee shall be independent of the recommendations of the SNR director. For faculty with less than a 0.50 FTE appointment in the SNR, the promotion and tenure committee shall communicate their evaluations of the faculty member to the home department. The promotion and tenure committee, likewise, has the responsibility to seek input from promotion and tenure committees in departments or units where an SNR faculty member has less than a 0.50 FTE appointment.

"Bylaws;" University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources; Adopted 11/26/2018