Safety and Facilities Committee

Mission Statement

The safety and facilities committee shall be composed of at least four faculty, three staff representatives, and one graduate student representative. Committee members shall be elected for staggered three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms. The chair will serve as the SNR safety liaison to the department of Environmental Health and Safety. The graduate student association will be asked to identify a representative to serve on this committee. The safety and facilities committee shall create a subcommittee, if necessary, to coordinate SNR’s sustainability efforts. Membership on the sustainability subcommittee shall be determined by the safety and facilities committee, and shall include representation from faculty, staff, and students.

The safety and facilities committee shall serve in an advisory role to the director on matters relating to safety, facilities, space allocation and utilization, and ecological and natural resources sustainability. It shall serve as the point of contact for related planning for SNR. At the request of the director or in association with the director, the committee shall develop recommendations on SNR policies related to the committee’s assignments. The committee shall promote a safe work environment; develop and review, as necessary, SNR policies related to the committee’s assignments; develop a safety plan for SNR; perform an annual assessment of safety within SNR; assess the safety plan, at minimum, every five years; provide an annual report to SNR membership; and carry out other assignments as requested by the director.

The committee or subcommittee shall serve to facilitate and coordinate SNR’s goal to promote conservation of ecological and natural resources and related sustainability efforts within SNR and UNL. The subcommittee will have a chair that is appointed by the chair of the safety and facilities committee. The sustainability subcommittee shall annually review the recycling program in Hardin Hall and other SNR buildings; develop an education program for our employees and students; encourage and promote recycling and other sustainability efforts; and make recommendations to the safety and facilities committee on sustainability efforts.

"Bylaws;" University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources; Adopted 12/16/2016

Current Members

Nolan Conradt (Liaison)- 17PG UPOL , CC 0634 ; phone: 402-472-2222; FAX: n/a; E-mail: nconradt3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: UNL Police Student/Employee Education Liaison]

Marty Hamel - 404 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-3409; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mhamel2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2018]

Jeremy Hiller (ex-officio)- 413 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-2093; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jhiller2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Lab Safety Coordinator]

Les Howard - 229f HARH , EC 0982 ; phone: 402-472-9192; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lhoward3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2018]

Betsy Howe (Liaison)- 101 W1 , EC 0824 ; phone: 402-472-5488; FAX: n/a; E-mail: ehowe2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Health and Safety]

Ayse Kilic - 311 HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-417-2562; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: akilic3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2018]

Jacki Loomis (ex-officio)- 121a HARH , EC 0961 ; phone: 402-472-7550; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jloomis3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Events and Sales Manager]

Nadya Mirochnitchenko - 013 HARH , EC ; phone: n/a; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: nmiroch@huskers.unl.edu - [Term Expires: GSA Representative]

Dan Olsen (Liaison)- 013 HARH , EC 0824 ; phone: 402-472-4928; FAX: n/a; E-mail: dolsen2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Health and Safety]

Lisa Pennisi - 519 HARH , EC 0995 ; phone: 402-472-5875; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lpennisi2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2018]

Mark Robertson (Liaison)- 519 HARH , CC 0634 ; phone: 402-472-2222; FAX: n/a; E-mail: mrobertson5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: UNL Police Emergency Preparedness Coordinator]

Todd Schimelfenig - 813 HARH , EC 0968 ; phone: 402-472-8764; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: tschimelfenig1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019]

Christine Steggs (ex-officio)- 908 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-8120; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: csteggs1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Policies and Procedures]

Milda Vaitkus - 319 HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-472-0306; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mvaitkus1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020]