Safety and Facilities Committee - Operational

Current Membership

Abby Ahmed - 414 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-7363; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: aahmed2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021]

Nolan Conradt (Liaison)- 17PG UPOL , CC 0634 ; phone: 402-472-2222; FAX: n/a; E-mail: nconradt3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: UNL Police Student/Employee Education Liaison]

Dennis Ferraro (Chair)- 415 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-8248; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: dferraro1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020]

Wilma Gerena - 422 South HARH , EC 0984 ; phone: 402-472-0449; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: wgerena2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021]

Stacey Hercerg - 340 North HARH , EC 0963 ; phone: 402-472-1146; FAX: n/a; E-mail: sherceg2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Statistics Liaison]

Jeremy Hiller (ex-officio)- 410 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-2093; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jhiller2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Lab Safety Coordinator]

Les Howard - 229f South HARH , EC 0982 ; phone: 402-472-9192; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lhoward3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021]

Betsy Howe (Liaison)- 101 W1 , EC 0824 ; phone: 402-472-5488; FAX: n/a; E-mail: ehowe2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Health and Safety]

Ayse Kilic - 311 South HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-417-2562; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: akilic3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021]

Jacki Loomis (ex-officio)- 121a South HARH , EC 0961 ; phone: 402-472-7550; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: jloomis3@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Events and Sales Manager]

Dan Olsen (Liaison)- 121a South HARH , EC 0824 ; phone: 402-472-4928; FAX: n/a; E-mail: dolsen2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Health and Safety]

Yi Qi - 315 South HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-472-8195; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: yqi7@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2021]

Mark Robertson (Liaison)- 315 South HARH , CC 0634 ; phone: 402-472-2222; FAX: n/a; E-mail: mrobertson5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: UNL Police Emergency Preparedness Coordinator]

Todd Schimelfenig - 813 South HARH , EC 0968 ; phone: 402-472-8764; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: tschimelfenig1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019]

Dakota Staggs - 244 North HARH , EC 0962 ; phone: n/a; FAX: n/a; E-mail: dstaggs2@huskers.unl.edu - [Term Expires: GSA Representative]

Christine Steggs (ex-officio)- 908 South HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-8120; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: csteggs1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Policies and Procedures]

Steven Thomas (Chair)- 403 South HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-613-0043; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: sthomas5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019]

Milda Vaitkus - 319 South HARH , EC 0973 ; phone: 402-472-0306; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mvaitkus1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2020]

Membership Criteria

The community engagement committee shall be composed of six elected faculty, three elected staff and one graduate student. representatives. Faculty and staff shall serve staggered three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms. The chair or his/her designee will (1) serve as the SNR safety liaison to the office of environmental health and safety; and (2) serve on the Chancellor's University Safety Committee (CUSC). The graduate student association will vote on a representative each year. The safety and facilities committee may coordinate SNR’s sustainability efforts through a subcommittee. Director's office will invite Statistics to name a liaison to this committee.

 

The committee shall:

  • serve in an advisory role to the director on matters relating to safety, facilities, space allocation and utilization, and ecological and natural resources sustainability, which includes the recycling program in HarH, and education program for employees and students, encourage and promote recycling, and other sustainability efforts
  • serve as the point of contact for related planning for SNR
  • propose policies related to the committee’s assignments
  • promote a safe work environment
  • develop and review, as necessary, SNR policies related to the committee’s assignments
  • develop a safety plan for SNR; review it, at minimum, every five years
  • perform an annual assessment of safety within SNR
  • provide an annual report to SNR membership
  • carry out other assignments as requested by the director