Undergraduate
Standing Committee

Mission Statement

The undergraduate committee shall be composed of an odd number of members and shall include the curriculum committee chairs (or designee) for majors administered by SNR, the science literacy coordinator (or designee), the teaching coordinator, and one or two members elected at-large to ensure an odd number. At-large committee members shall be elected for staggered three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms. The SNR teaching coordinator (or designee) shall serve as the chair of this committee, represent SNR on the CASNR curriculum committee, and coordinate all university level assessments. The associate director, teaching coordinator, and advising coordinator shall serve as ex officio members of the SNRUC.

The committee approves undergraduate curriculum proposals including course changes, new courses, and new programs. The committee shall foster and facilitate undergraduate teaching within SNR by advising the director on matters pertaining to undergraduate education. This includes assisting the director or their designee in identifying and implementing actions to enhance the physical and institutional infrastructure required to support teaching, and offer recommendations to increase recognition of SNR.

"Bylaws;" University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources; Adopted: 11/26/2018

Current Members

Steve Comfort - 205 KCR , EC 0915 ; phone: 402-472-1502 & Lab 472-6540; FAX: 402-472-7904; E-mail: scomfort1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Environmental Soil Science]

Joe Dauer - 524 HARH , EC 0995 ; phone: 402-318-7363; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: joseph.dauer@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Science Literacy]

Paul Hanson (ex-officio)- 904 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-7762; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: phanson2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Associate Director & Geography]

Mike Hayes - 811 HARH , EC 0988 ; phone: 402-472-4271; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mhayes2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Applied Climate Science]

Mark Pegg - 402 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6824; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: mpegg2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Fisheries and Wildlife]

Lisa Pennisi - 519 HARH , EC 0995 ; phone: 402-472-5875; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: lpennisi2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2019 (At-large)]

Walt Schacht - 312 KEIM , EC 0915 ; phone: 402-472-0205; FAX: 402-472-7904; E-mail: wschacht1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Grassland Ecology Management]

Pat Shea - 102C KCR , EC 0817 ; phone: 402-472-1533; FAX: 402-472-7904; E-mail: pshea1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: 2018 (At-large)]

Steven Thomas - 403 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-613-0043; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: sthomas5@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Water Science]

Drew Tyre (Chair)- 416 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-4054; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: atyre2@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Teaching Coordinator, CASNR Curr. Comm. Rep]

Dave Wedin - 411 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-9608; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: dwedin1@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Pre-forestry]

Sara Winn (ex-officio)- 102d HARH , EC 0981 ; phone: 402-472-0636; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: sara.winn@unl.edu - [Term Expires: Advising Coordinator]