SNR Undergraduate Committee

Mission Statement

SNR has administrative responsibility for the following majors: applied climate science, environmental restoration science, environmental studies (only applied climate science and natural resources options in CASNR), fisheries and wildlife, geography (CAS), grassland ecology and management, pre-forestry (2-year program), and water science. Additionally, SNR contributes to the science literacy program.

The SNR undergraduate committee (SNRUC) shall be composed of the chairs of each of the majors' curriculum committees, the science literacy coordinator (or designee), plus two members elected at-large from the faculty of SNR. At-large committee members shall be elected for staggered three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms. The SNR teaching coordinator shall serve as the chair of this committee, shall represent SNR on the CASNR curriculum committee, serve as the SNR ACE Coordinator for CASNR, and serve as the PEARL Assessment Coordinator. The director shall appoint a second faculty member to serve as the ACE Coordinator for CAS. The associate director, teaching coordinator, and advising coordinator shall serve as ex officio members of the SNRUC.

The SNRUC shall foster and facilitate undergraduate teaching within SNR by advising the director on matters pertaining to undergraduate education. This includes assisting the director or his/her designee in identifying and implementing actions to enhance the physical and institutional infrastructure required to support teaching, offer recommendations to increase recognition of SNR majors and courses, and carry out assignments as requested by the director.

"Bylaws;" University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources; Adopted: 12/16/2016

Current Members

Steve Comfort - 205 KCR , EC 0915 ; phone: 402-472-1502 & Lab 472-6540; FAX: 402-472-7904; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Environmental Soil Science]

Joe Dauer - 524 HARH , EC 0995 ; phone: 402-318-7363; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Science Literacy]

Paul Hanson (ex-officio)- 904 HARH , EC 0989 ; phone: 402-472-7762; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Associate Director & Geography]

Mike Hayes - 811 HARH , EC 0988 ; phone: 402-472-4271; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Applied Climate Science]

Mark Pegg - 402 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-6824; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Fisheries and Wildlife]

Lisa Pennisi - 519 HARH , EC 0995 ; phone: 402-472-5875; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: 2019 (At-large)]

Walt Schacht - 312 KEIM , EC 0915 ; phone: 402-472-0205; FAX: 402-472-7904; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Grassland Ecology Management]

Pat Shea - 102C KCR , EC 0817 ; phone: 402-472-1533; FAX: 402-472-7904; E-mail: - [Term Expires: 2018 (At-large)]

Steven Thomas - 403 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-613-0043; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Water Science]

Drew Tyre (Chair)- 416 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-4054; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Teaching Coordinator, CASNR Curr. Comm. Rep]

Dave Wedin - 411 HARH , EC 0974 ; phone: 402-472-9608; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Pre-forestry]

Sara Winn (ex-officio)- 102d HARH , EC 0981 ; phone: 402-472-0636; FAX: 402-472-2946; E-mail: - [Term Expires: Advising Coordinator]