George E. Condra Scholarship

Dr. George E. Condra, director of the Conservation and Survey Division (CSD) of the University of Nebraska from 1921 to 1954, sought to better serve the water well industry and the people of the state by promoting professionalism in well drilling. With the help of a number of interested drillers, he organized a professional association for their profession, the Nebraska Well Drillers Association (NWDA).

To honor Condra, in 1970, the well drillers worked with the University of Nebraska Foundation to set up the "George E. Condra Groundwater Geology Memorial Scholarship Sponsored by the Nebraska Well Drillers Association." The scholarship is worth $1,000 and is given annually to one or two qualified undergraduate students in the University of Nebraska system who has sophomore standing or above with at least a 3.0 GPA; and is enrolled full-time in any program leading to a career in the water well industry or in geology, hydrology or hydrogeology.

For scholarship applications, contact Jacki Loomis at (402) 472-7550. Applications are due each year by November 15th, and the scholarship is awarded at the annual convention of the Nebraska Well Drillers Association in Lincoln in mid-February.

Scholarships Given
  • Typically 1 per year
George Condra
George Condra, the first director of the Conservation and Survey Division, key cooperators with the Nebraska Well Drillers Association.

Scholarship Form

  • George E. Condra Memorial Scholarship - Updated 10/20/2015
    (Word | PDF)

Opportunities for Giving

Information about giving to this and other funds can be found at the NU Foundation web site.

Award Winners

Nicole Smith
Ethan Nutter
Jesy Hansen
Ross Lawrence
Wyatt Stubbs
Katherine Boone
Dillon Dittmet
Jared Norris
Andrew Rieschick
Scott Sorensen
Allen Marten
Benjamin Cunningham