Izaak Walton League of America Scholarship

Scholarships Given

  • Typically 8 - 10 per year

The Izaak Walton League of America is a diverse group of 50,000 men and women dedicated to protecting our nation's soil, air, woods, water and wildlife. Its interests range from outdoor recreation and conservation activities, particularly angling and birding, to stream monitoring, wildlife photography and hunting. The goal is to protect and use America's rich resources sustainably to ensure a high quality of life for all people, now and in the future.

Award Winners

2023 - 2024
Nebraska: Lillie Albers
Nebraska: Clara Freese
Fremont: Madison Husmann
Fremont: Marcus McCaskill
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Alexis Moslander
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Cordell Vrbka
2022 - 2023
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Natalia Hagen
Fremont: Daniel Rice
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Kaitlyn Richards
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Jeremy Schepler
Grand Island: Megan Snow
Lincoln: Hunter Swanson
2021 - 2022
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Jack Carter
Fremont: Noah Frazen
Grand Island: Teagan Gaul
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Mark McDonald
2020 - 2021
Lincoln: Kristina Amato
Grand Island: Mikayla Barg
Grand Island: Hannah Clark
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Kaitlyn Dozler
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Jacob Harvey
Lincoln: Anna Kuhlman
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Taylor Riecken
2019 - 2020
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Kelsie Alling
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Kristina Amato
Lincoln: Ashlynn Baker
Nebraska: Jacob Harvey
Nebraska: Kayla Johnson
Lincoln: Carlee Koehler
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Ethan Kratina
2018 - 2019
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Allyson Beard
Lincoln: Bryce Christensen
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Danielle Galvin
Nebraska: Noah Hines
Nebraska: Adam Mortensen
Grand Island: Brooke Mott
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Isabelle Murray
Lincoln: Mackenzie Zwiener
2017 - 2018
Lincoln: Peyton Bishop
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Mary Boswell
Lincoln: Grace Bullington
Lincoln: Elsa Forsberg
Grand Island: Jack Hilgert
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Derek Kane
Nebraska: Brooke Mott
Nebraska: Alexis Polivanov
Lincoln: Matthew Schaaf
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Nicole Strand
2016 - 2017
Lincoln: Allison Dickey
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Ellen Dolph
Fremont: Jennifer Reyes
Nebraska: Curt Vandenberg
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Tanner Zlab
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Charrissa Zuerlien
Nebraska: Mackenzie Zwiener
2015 - 2016
Lincoln: Kimberly Brown
Grand Island: Chelsea Cather
Nebraska: Ellen Dolph
Fremont: Courtney Everhart
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Jamelyn Foster
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Brooke Welsh-Appleby
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Brooke Welsh-Appleby
Lincoln: Tanner Zlab
2014 - 2015
Nebraska: Marissa Braddock
Nebraska (Endowed): Kimberly Brown
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Chelsea Cather
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Chelsea Cather
Fremont: Courtney Everhart
Nebraska: Jamelyn Foster
Lincoln: Mitchell Renteria
Grand Island: Nathan Wieseler
Fremont: Michaela Wilson
Lincoln: Alexa Wray
2013 - 2014
Fremont: Marissa Braddock
Lincoln: Caitlyn Erixon
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Sandra Lee
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Dylan Maag
Lincoln: Daniel Uttecht
Grand Island: Brooke Vander Hamm
Fremont: Maleah Wraith
2012 - 2013
Grand Island: Alexander Artz
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): David Engel
Lincoln: John Konvalina
Fremont: Jacob Linderholm
Nebraska: Jordan Moline
Nebraska: Daniel Uttecht
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Brooke Vander Hamm
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Alec Wong
2011 - 2012
Nebraska: Jared Barjenbruch
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Michael Boden
Lincoln: Jacob Koenig
Grand Island: Dylan Maag
Platte Valley: Jean-Paul Montes
Fremont: Sarah Moy
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Anne Rolfson
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Shawn Smith
Nebraska: Alec Wong
2010 - 2011
Nebraska: Scott Aden
Lincoln: Alexa Armstrong
Nebraska: Samantha Janousek
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Ashley McAllister
Grand Island: Brianna Myre
Fremont: Kyle O'Connell
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Anne Rolfson
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Kathleen Spencer
2009 - 2010
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Carla Alschwede
Grand Island: Christopher Cowan
Nebraska: Julia DeWilde
Platte Valley: Zachariah Douglas
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Rebecca Gonzales
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Anne Rolfson
Fremont: Adam Schole
Lincoln: Tanner Stevens
Nebraska: Lauren Thompson
2008 - 2009
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Carla Alschwede
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Rebecca Gonzales
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Brent Johnson
Fremont: William Lawyer
Nebraska Div. IWLA: Anne Rolfson
Grand Island: Adam Schole
Platte Valley: Scott Sorensen
Nebraska: Laura Thacker-Lynn
Nebraska: Jed Thompson
Lincoln: Lauren Thompson
2007 - 2008
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Carla Alschwede
Lincoln: Julie George
Platte Valley: Julie George
Nebraska: Aaron Hildreth
Fremont: Samantha Janousek
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Kelly Kappen
Grand Island: Nathanial Phillips
Nebraska: Landon Pierce
Platte Valley: Adam Rupe
Lincoln: Laura Thacker-Lynn
2006 - 2007
Fremont: Kelly Corman
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Theodore Ehly
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Julie George
Nebraska: Aaron Hildreth
Lincoln: Kelly Kappen
Nebraska: Branden O'Hare
Grand Island: Laura Thacker-Lynn
2005 - 2006
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Nicholas Dobesh
Lincoln: Scott Groepper
Nebraska: Scott Harter
Jessie Benton (Fremont): LaNae Hays
Platte Valley: Steve Herdzina
Grand Island: Minako Ishibashi
Nebraska: Branden O'Hare
Fremont: Linsey Willman
2004 - 2005
Grand Island: Levi Adam
Platte Valley: Todd Burda
Nebraska: Kelly Corman
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): LaNae Hays
Lincoln: Steve Herdzina
Nebraska: Branden O'Hare
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Rachel Ptacek
Fremont: Joshua Stark
2003 - 2004
Nebraska: Kelly Corman
Platte Valley: Jeff Koch
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Lisa Ann Kotas
Fremont: Casey Leif
Lincoln: Matthew Neukirch
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Kelsi Niederklein
Grand Island: David Putensen
Nebraska: Joshua Schmidt
2002 - 2003
Nebraska: Greg Clements
Jessie Benton (Fremont): Erin Garrison
Platte Valley: Bryan Kluever
West Point: Sara Moore
Nebraska: Tyler Naprstek
Fremont: Aaron Nelson
Lincoln: Corey Nelson
Grand Island: Greg Prochaska
Roy and Sue Carlstrom (Fremont): Jessica Schell
Lincoln: Tamara Tietmeyer
Nebraska: Brenda Woodward