Robert E. Thomas Memorial Scholarship

Scholarships Given

  • Typically 1 per year


Robert E. Thomas was a fisheries biologist for more than two decades with the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission. In his memory, the family of Robert E. Thomas and the Nebraska Chapter of the American Fisheries Society established Robert E. Thomas Memorial Scholarship.

The awards are open to junior or senior students who demonstrate a career path leading to the field of fishery resources. Beyond academic standing, applicants may demonstrate their interest and dedication by activities such as: the UNL Wildlife Club, student membership in the American Fisheries Society, or internships or volunteer work with a local, state, or federal natural resource agency.

Learn more about Robert E. Thomas


This scholarship will typically provide a monetary award (about $1,000) and membership to the American Fisheries Society and the Nebraska Chapter of the American Fisheries Society. For more information about how to apply contact:

Mark Pegg
402 Hardin Hall
University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68502-0974


  • Applicants must be actively enrolled in a university or college located in Nebraska with a major in fisheries or another major with an emphasis in fisheries, aquatic resources management or aquatic biology.
  • Applicant must be entering their junior or senior year with academic credentials show outstanding promise for professional contributions in fisheries.

Criteria for Selection

  • A letter of application that includes a statement of the student’s leadership in conservation activities, professional goals and employment objectives
  • A completed application form
  • Current transcripts showing a 3.2 or better GPA with courses in biology, chemistry, and mathematics
  • Show satisfactory progress toward a Bachelor of Science degree in a fisheries or related major. (Defined as registration for 12+ hours of graded courses per semester for the senior year)

Application Process

Due Date: February 16, 2024 at 5 pm

Download Application

Award Winners

2023 - 2024
Sylas Abarr
2022 - 2023
2021 - 2022
Callie McCright
2020 - 2021
Jacob Kruckenberg
2019 - 2020
Camden Oathout
2018 - 2019
Nolan Watkins
2017 - 2018
Mackenzie Zwiener
2016 - 2017
Rachel Neisius
2015 - 2016
Connor Chance-Ossowski
2014 - 2015
Jessica Powell
2013 - 2014
Dylan Turner
2012 - 2013
Jamie Jones
2011 - 2012
Jeremy Grauf
2010 - 2011
Katherine Lawry
2009 - 2010
John Walrath
2008 - 2009
Dan Kolterman
2007 - 2008
Rebecca Sikes
2006 - 2007
Landon Pierce
2005 - 2006
Blake Smith
2004 - 2005
Tara Anderson